Translate URL slugs, export source language only, clearer translations management

new Translate URL slugs

We’ve now made it possible for you to translate your URL slugs if you’re on an advanced plan or above. This is a useful feature for those looking to localize their website even further. This feature is available for WordPress users and currently in beta for other CMS.

To translate your URL slugs, go to your Translations tab > URL Slugs. 

Select the language of the slugs you’d like to edit and use the box to either manually edit the URL slug or use the ‘auto translate’ button for machine translation. 

Note, if your slug is found in multiple URLs, it will be translated across them all. 

For example:

  • https://mywebsite.com/features 
  • https://mywebsite.com/features/benefit-1

The word ‘features’ appears in both slugs, therefore if you choose to translate ‘features’ it will also be translated in the second slug too:

  • https://mywebsite.com/fr/fonctionnalites
  • https://mywebsite.com/fr/fonctionnalites/benefit-1

Note: If you are using WordPress as your CMS you will need to redirect your default non-translated URLs to the newly translated ones. For example, redirect mysite.com/fr/about to your newly created mysite.com/fr/a-propos translated URL (this will happen automatically for other CMS subdomain integrations). 


newExport source language only

For those exporting their translations through the Weglot Translations List, you now have the option to only export the ‘Source language’. This means you can export all the words on your website in its original language, without any translations. 

To access this feature go to your Weglot Dashboard > Translations and click on the ‘Export’ button. 


new Restore translation 

You now have the option to restore your translations, whether that’s to the original machine translation or if you made numerous manual changes. 

To access this feature go to your Translations, select the language pair and then click on the individual translation and ‘see details’.  

In the ‘History’ section, click on the clock icon to restore to your preferred translation. 


update Translations management update

We’ve now made it clearer in your translations list change history when you make an edit or approve a machine translation. Click on the ‘see details’ part of a translation.   

Under the ‘History’ tab, you can now tell if someone has made a manual edit or simply approved the machine translation.

  • ‘Changed by’ is a manual edit by someone
  • ‘Marked as reviewed’ is approving the machine translation without making any changes